

# SENATE

## Terms of Reference and Composition 2024/25

#### Terms of reference

- The Senate is the supreme academic authority of the University responsible for overseeing academic quality and standards, and shall, subject to the powers reserved to the Council by the Statutes, take such measures and act in such a manner as shall appear to it best calculated to promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and shall regulate and superintend the education of the students of the University.
- 2. Senate has powers defined in the University Statutes article 12(1) 12(5) (see appendix 1)

#### Composition

**Ex-Officio Members** 

Vice-Chancellor (Chair) Deputy Vice Chancellor Pro-Vice-Chancellors Deans of Faculties Academic Registrar/Person with prime managerial responsibility across the University for learning resources

Members

Twenty-five staff representatives (made up of Associate Deans, Professors, Academics and Admin/Technical/ Professional staff members) Chair of the University Assembly Two Deputy Chairs of the University Assembly Three members elected from Professional Services staff Seven students

In attendance

Chief Finance Officer Director of People Culture and Wellbeing University Secretary Secretary (Governance team)

#### **Frequency of meetings**

The Committee should meet no less than four times per academic year.

#### Quorum

A quorum comprises at least 50% of the members of the Committee (including vacant posts), including the Chair or the Chair's nominee. This shall be rounded up to the nearest whole number. In the absence of a quorum, no formal resolution may be passed, but informal recommendations for decisions may be made to be considered and ratified at a subsequent meeting.

#### **Ex-Officio Members**

Professor Shirley Congdon	Vice-Chancellor	N/A
Vacancy	Deputy Vice-Chancellor	N/A
Professor Sherif El-Khamisy	Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Innovation and Engagement)	N/A
Professor Udy Archibong	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion)	N/A
Paul Watson	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning, Teaching and Student Experience)	N/A
Professor Martin Priest	Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	N/A
Professor Rob James	Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Dr William Martin	Dean, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Professor Engobo Emeseh	Interim Dean, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Dr Anne Miller	Interim Academic Registrar	N/A

#### Members

Professor Felician Campean	ADR&I, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	N/A
Professor Iqbal Mujtaba	ADLT, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	N/A
Alison Hartley	ADLT, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Professor Marina Bloj	ADR&I, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Dr Benjamin Jennings	ADLT, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Professor Anant Paradkar	ADR&I, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Dr Jing Li	ADR&I, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Professor Kerry Papps	ADLT, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Professor Alastair Wood	Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	2025
Dr Pete Twigg	Academic, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	2025

Yakubu John	Academic, Faculty of Engineering and	2025
	Digital Technologies	
Amit Rana	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	2025
Professor Rebecca Randell	Professor, Faculty of Health Studies	2027
Bryan Lightowler	Academic, Faculty of Health Studies	2025
Dr Kieran Manchester	Academic, Faculty of Health Studies	2027
Mozalfa Ilyas	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Health Studies	2025
Professor Andrew Wilson	Professor, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Dr Keren Bielby-Clarke	Academic, Faculty of Life Sciences	2027
Zak Hughes	Academic, Faculty of Life Sciences	2026
Tim Squire-Watt	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Professor Fiona Macaulay	Professor, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2026
Dr Samina Karim	Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Dr Craig Johnson	Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Faiz Ilyas	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Professor Vishanth Weerakkody	Academic, Faculty Representative	2025
Jonathan Marsden	Member of Professional Services	2025
Toby Chelms	Member of Professional Services	2027
Nasreen Akhtar	Member of Professional Services	2025
Professor Prathivadi Anand	Chair of the University Assembly	2025
Colin Pickles	Deputy Chair of University Assembly	2025
Louise Wem	Deputy Chair of University Assembly	2025
Sanskrity Baraili	Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical Officer	2025
Raizana Razeen	Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical Officer	2025
Fatima Khan	Student Representative, UBU Chair of Council (or UBU Sabbatical Officer)	2025
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	2025
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Health Studies	2025

Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025

### In attendance

Martin Conway	University Secretary	N/A
Dave Harris	Director of People, Culture and Wellbeing	N/A
Andrew Lang	Chief Finance Officer	N/A
Steve Gilley	Director of Infrastructure	N/A
Vacancy	Dean, School of Management	N/A

# Meeting Details

23 October 2024	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
29 January 2025	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
30 April 2025	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
09 July 2025	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00

## Serviced by

Katherine Wass, Governance and Projects Officer, email; <u>k.wass@bradford.ac.uk</u>