

JOINT COMMITTEE OF THE SENATE AND COUNCIL ON HONORARY **AWARDS**

Terms of Reference and Composition 2024/25

Terms of reference

- 1. To consider, in accordance with the applicable ordinance and policy, nominations for Honorary Awards of the University.
 - Consider of nominations to be approved by Senate and Council as appropriate. Including the award to be granted in line with the criteria set out in the University Honorary Awards Policy.
 - Consideration of any matters relating to the policy and to develop and enhance the University approach to these awards.
- 2. To consider and agree University nominations for individual UK National Honours.
- To consider any matters relating to the provision of Honorary Awards of the University and UK 3. National Honours as may be appropriate.

Composition

Members

Vice-Chancellor (Chair) Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic Innovation and Quality

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Four lay members of Council (to include Chair of Council)

Staff member of Council

Student member of Council

In attendance

Associate Director, Engagement, Development and Communications University Secretary

Committee Secretary (Governance Team)

Frequency of meetings

The Committee should meet no less than twice per academic year.

Quorum

A quorum comprises at least 50% of the members of the Committee/Group, including the Chair (or Chair's nominee) and at least two Council lay members.

Members

Professor Shirley Congdon	Vice-Chancellor (Chair)	N/A
Vacancy	Deputy Vice-Chancellor	N/A
Professor Sherif El-Khamisy	Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research & Innovation	N/A
Professor Udy Archibong	Pro Vice-Chancellor, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion	N/A
TBC	Chair of Council	2027
Dr Stewart Davies	Lay member of Council	2026
Ash Mehta	Lay member of Council	2026
Paul Donovan	Lay member of Council	2025
Faiz Ilyas	Senate elected staff member of Council	2025
Sanskrity Baraili	Student member of Council	2025

In attendance

Eleanor Clyde-Evans	Associate Director, Engagement, Alumni and Development	N/A
Martin Conway	University Secretary	N/A

Meeting Details

04 September 2024	Microsoft Teams	1600-1730
23 January 2025	Microsoft Teams	0900-1100
08 May 2025	Microsoft Teams	1400-1600

Serviced by
Palbinder Sandhu, Governance & Projects Officer – p.sandhu3@bradford.ac.uk